Nav Ad Widget - Mobile

Collapse

Nav Ad Widget - Desktop

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advisory : Watch Repair/Service Recommendation ( Omega)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advisory : Watch Repair/Service Recommendation ( Omega)

Hi all,
    My dad passed me this piece of Omega

It is not silver but gold. condition quite bad as the gold has turn blackish due to age and he doesnt know how to maintain it.
    the body has a chip at the other side of the knob (dont know if the correct word to use).
    it still moves, now testing to see if the day/date still works.
    leather strap is gone case, need to replace it as it is too old and like got algae at the end.

question here is, worth to recondition?
    or whether can polish it back when there is a chip on the casing?
    http://www.theoldwatchshop.com/omega.html

from this webpage it says it is a 1972 piece. Not very sure about it as I am very new to this.

please advise.
    Thanks in advance.

Another vintage omega piece

Another person with a vintage Omega! Yes, the watch can definitely be restored - it's a matter of cost. If you want to restore it to sell, maybe you'll not make any money but since it is passed down from your dad, you should consider restoring it and one day pass down to your children. You should check the other post about places to restore. BTW, the watch could even be older than that - need to look at the serial and case number. As mentioned, Omega was more popular than Rolex in the 1950s/60s and hence, alot of people are buying watches from that era. There is a rather vibrant marketing for vintage omegas and hence, there'll definitely be some value if you keep it.

Comment

Recommendation to service Omega watch

Hi all,

Saw some water droplets on my watch when go to air cond places.
      Understand that swatch group service is expensive, since watch is out of warranty. Is there any local repair service shop to recommend?

Thanks in advance!