X
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Buying a Rolex Watch

Hi,

I'm relatively new to the world of Swiss watches. Just started this new hobby in Nov 07 and had bought 2 Swiss watches over a month. I seem to get hooked to this and hope to stop, at least for a while. But before that, I wish to get a new Rolex watch. I've been checking out shops lately and discovered that Rolex did not have the "combo" I wanted. What do I mean? Ok, here it is......

Looking at the classic range, I learnt that there were 3 types of bezels, the white gold, "engineton" and dome. Sorry but I may have spelt the "engineton" wrongly. There are terms like "date" and "datejust". I was told simply that date means smaller face and datejust, slightly bigger. Though my first choice are the white gold bezel watches because of the design (which I like and not because it is white gold), I did not want to spend that kind of money. Then comes the dome bezel. It is not for me and I really don't like the design.

Ah..! The engineton bezel then caught my eye. The design is milder than the white gold and not as plain as the dome. The problem is: THEY ONLY HAVE DATE; NO DATEJUST!! Meaning, I can only settle for a smaller face (date) watch if I want an engineton bezel. I was told that engineton bezel watches were only available in date-size and smaller, and only the white gold and dome bezels spread across the ranges. Therefore, my combo for a Rolex watch now would be:

- datejust, black-face Roman lettering, engineton bezel, plain steel strap
    (forgot the term but its not the jubilee one)

Anyone can share?

Thanks!

This qn is a bit chim. Must wait for senior bros to come in and answer
    Dream as if you'll live forever. Live as if you'll die today. -James Dean

Comment

Sure. Am waiting...

Comment

Originally posted by WatchME View Post
        Hi,

Anyone can share?

Thanks!
        president bracelet? or the newer designed bracelet?