First nice watch

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First nice watch

Sorry for one of these post again, but thought it will be nice to hear from senior bros on their views. I have to say, I am still a noob in watches and movements etc.

Graduated and working for a year, thought its time for me to get myself a nice watch after using my trusty seiko for a while now. Started with a budget of 4k and wanted to get myself a black bay, but after all the trips to AD, I'm now left in a dilemma of which to choose!

1. Black Bay Red - Vintage, within my budget, have been told its worth the price.

2. Pelagos - Absolutely love the blue lume on the bezel and dial, but price is a little steep even after discount with AD on top of the thickness. The date function is a good plus as well.

3. PO 8500 - The most expensive out of the lot. Love the blue lume but the green minute lume does turn me off a little. Great in-house movement and I believe the best option among the 3 to retain value.

I have to be honest and admit that it probably wont be my last watch, will likely get another when I hit another milestone in life, which will hopefully be in around 4-5 years time (and not earlier!).

P.S. - I work in the office, so my usual dress code will be shirt and pants. The watch will ideally be my regular work watch, and if weekend dress code allows, be that as well

Cheers!

I see that you have done some homework and it sure helps in decision-making. IMO, and among the three options, I will have no second thought to take option 1, ie the Black Bay (BB). On the Pelagos, you are not wrong to say that the price is a little steep because there will be more choices out there. On the Planet Ocean 8500, whether it retains value well is subjective. I don't see Omega watches having good resale value, and especially so if you have purchased it at at a high price.