Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• GMT Master II vs Submariner vs Milgauss

This is going to be my first rolex.
    I studied the website for the ranges.... Initially I fell in love with the new datejustII. It was a classic.... But I'm only 32, is it too classic for me? I did not want to make a mistake.... Considering it's a huge sum of money (for me) and i don't want to spoilt ,y experience.

Dont ask me why, but I did not go to any shops to view. It's all done on the net. Maybe I'm not used to buying expensive watches... The only daily watches I wear are nautical, just $500, cerutti, I think $800 and my all time favorite shock, around $250....

I love the Milgauss. I felt it oozes style, it appealed to me and I swore I will get that.... But you know what? Damn! How come no date? Ya ya.... I can hear some one saying.... Look at your handphone lor... That's true... But.... I want a date, I need to see it on the watch even if I don't use it (it's just me). So it's the sub vs gmt.

I think they are pretty close in price. And they look pretty darn the same!
    So what the heck to buy?
    Yes, I'm a traveller.... I do it for work... I travel to 7 countries, every month I depart from Singapore 3 times.... And I don't dive... The best I do is snokle ( and I suck at it). By now it seems like the gmt is winning hands down...

But honestly, I travel in Asia.... Time difference is not that great and in the past 5 years on this job.... I'm always tuning my watch, the gmt won't save me a huge load of difference! I don't need 3 time zone! But I need to choose one rolex to buy!

So I ask my wife.... I should have done so much earlier.... She say gmt, since I don't dive (hahaha) and so, after considering for 6weeks, I finally called up the ADs, basically I called hourglass.... Because I felt they are good and I read some good reviews on them. The quoted price is all $10'500 for the gmt steel. No bloody discount! Why!