Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• just a few qns pls..

Hi all,

i am new to rolex and actually in consideration 116613LB for my 1st watch. i have a few noob qns and hopefully sgrocs bro can enlighten me

1) is there any diff between a local and oversea set?

2) THG quoted me $17580 (before discount), but sg roc seller selling BNIB @ between 12k - 13k? are they of the same series?

3) what is the diff between g series, v series and alpha-numeric series? which series is THG selling how come few $thousand difference comparing to non AD?

i would greatly appreciate if anyone could enlighten me on my enquiries. hehe

Hello wu_song.

1. Some ppl say Rolexes that came from Switzerland, ie with Swiss client no. on the warranty card are fully made in Switzerland but think no one can confirm that. Swiss made doesn't mean 100% of the parts are made and assembled in Switzerland apparently. Some parts are outsourced and assembly could also be in other countries. Not sure how true this is. You can refer to the following to know the country codes, represented by client numbers on the warranty card:

Rolex country codes

2. BNIB means "brand new in box". The seller is either a private individual seller or a gray seller. THG is a local authorized dealer. You decide.

3. The first alphabet followed by numbers is the serial number of the Rolex watch. The first alphabet represented the year of issue of the watch by Rolex. For example, G means some time in 2010 and V in 2008. After 2010, Rolex changed the serial number series and came out with the random serial number system, ie a mix-up of alphabets and numbers. No one is able to decipher that system yet. You can refer here for the previous serial number system:

Rolex serial number series

One possible reason why the other seller's watch is cheaper is the watch has an older date of manufacture.

Hope this helps you. Cheers.

Comment

Originally posted by wu_song View Post
      Hi all,