Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to Hobby

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to appreciating watches. I used to think these branded watches are far beyond my grabs until recently. I've been so-called 'poisoned' recently (about few weeks back) by a group of watch hobbyists. Since then have been scouting around for watches of brands such as IWC, TAGHeuer, Omega, ROLEX, Fortis, Sinn, BALL, etc...................

I'm now starting to realise that these watches are REALLY EXPENSIVE! Omg!! I am really new and lost in the world of precious time pieces. I hope someone here can help me to understand in more laymen terms. Eg. how do I compare brands in order of reputation, ie. which brand comes first; Patek Ppe-Jaeger LC-IWC-... And where does ROLEX stand in the world of WATCHES? It will be better if you can make the comparison against car brands, which I am better attune to. For example, ROLEX=Merc? Patek=Ferrari? TAGH=Lexus?

Sorry if I sounded stupid but I was glad I found a forum like this to communicate with.

Thanks !

WELCOME TO THE GROUP!!!

Hahaha...enjoy your poison...

IMO...

Lambo = Patek >
    Ferrari = Franck Muller > Beyond the reach of most working ppl

Merc = Rolex...The 2 most respected brands by asians,often owned by towkays

Tag,Omega = Lexus,there are the grp that's trying hard to be like Merc but cannot be as gd as Merc...

many many more..I can never end la...but all in all..most of them are good watches! ENJOY!

Sometimes forgotten, but always contactable. Darkangel (2007-2014)

Comment

Yep.... dun really bother much abt the brand la....

First thing is.. u sld love the design of the watch.. then hoot liaos...

Brand only comes into play if u plan to 'show' them off.. or for resale value..
      A bad day of fishing is still better than a good day at the office.

Just me and my NT...

Comment

welcome, i think individual lah...