My Rolex Submariner stop ticking

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My Rolex Submariner stop ticking

I bought my Sub 2 years and 8 months ago from THG. Recently, I realised the power reserve of my Sub seems to drop after putting it on a winder (I wear it only once a week).

Yesterday, after winding for about 40 rounds and wearing it in the morning, it stop ticking at about 3pm. I wind it again after this happened but the ticking continue to stop at short intervals after which I finally gave up and concluded that it need to be sent to service center for check and repair.

I did not expect my Sub to fail me as I have a Omega Speedmaster which I purchased 5 years ago which has never fail me for a single day as long as I am wearing it ( I wear it 3to 4 days a week).

1. Is the problem due to the reason I did not service my Sub after the 2 years warranty period? When must I service my Rolex?

2.Is this a common problem to Rolex watches or just an isolated case which happen to my Sub? I am starting to lose my confidence in a watch brand which has a history of robust and reliability and certainty in doubt now to get my third Rolex for my third child.

Thanks.

there can be various reasons why your watch is showing such symptoms... but not servicing it after 2 years 8 months of ownership should not be part of it. servicing intervals should be 5-7 years.

if you're sure it's not a result of your use, why not drop by RSC with it and ask them if this is acceptable or at least find out what the problem is. there's no need to tell them it is 2 years 8 months old...

any brand can make watches that will fail inappropriately - not just rolex. don't overthink it.
    “Watches, no matter how much they cost, are better at telling time than making a person happy.” - Thomas J. Stanley

Comment

Originally posted by Throttle
      confirm isolated case.
      in fact, never heard of, personally
      Agreed, rare case. So dun worry if you plan to buy another rolex.